THE LOW CARB LOW-DOWN

img_20170130_190048_139-01I’ve always had a love-hate relationship with food, sugary foods to be specific. I have a sweet tooth and I cannot seem to outgrow it.

I am the type that would only have a packet of marshmallows for supper… I developed this bad habit during my pregnancy…

Eish, bad habits!

I didn’t fully grasp the concept of healthy eating, understanding my body and its relationship with food- this resulted in me being on and off the health wagon.

Health wagon? Not weight loss wagon?

Yes, health!!!

My primary goal is creating a healthier version of myself in return, weight loss becomes an additional benefit and I’ve achieved this by giving my plate POWER.

POWER to transform me, the low carb way…

Let’s talk a bit about the concept of low carb:

The low carb lifestyle is famously known as the ketogenic, paleo, banting and the low carb high/healthy fat (LCHF) eating plan. You can use whichever word sits well with you, I will stick to low carb high fat (LCHF).

First and foremost, LOW CARB IS NOT NO CARB, with the LCHF lifestyle non-starchy vegetables are the sources of carbohydrates. So, in a nutshell, your daily carbohydrate intake is not non-existent, it is just of a low quantity.

Before you start, look at this:

  • Use the green, orange and red list as a guide for foods you should eat and foods you should avoid completely
  • When you follow LCHF your body gets in ketosis state, where our body changes metabolic pathways and start burning fat for energy instead of burning glucose (sugar)
  • It is important to know that the fats that you must consume are your healthy fats (coconut oil, olive oil, butter, avocado).
  • Count calories, some will disagree with me on this point but this works for me. I eat approximately 1200 calories a day.
  • Don’t forget to exercise.

Being an endomorph (read about body types here) I gain weight quickly and therefore 5 months ago, I opted to adopt the LCHF lifestyle and my health, skin and body has transformed tremendously.

NOTE: Please consult your doctor first before opting to go the LCHF way.

Chat soon

X,Senamile

Leave a Reply

